top of page
 July 90 edge of Arragnat. My father's lourdaise sheep.

Stories

A family story

My relationship with wool and knitting is quite simply a family story. My passion for knitting and yarn arts, but also for creative hobbies in general, is probably in my genes. I learned to knit with my paternal grandmother, when I was a child, my maternal grandmother was a seamstress, and my mother transmitted her taste for colors to me through painting. 

 

tricot aiguilles anneaux marqueurs de maille knitty and woolly, accessoires de tricot, laine française
Protéger la lourdaise
lourdaises ewes

And the wool in all this? About thirty years ago, my father, then a history and geography teacher and very attached to the local heritage, made the choice to become a breeder and to actively commit to safeguarding the Lourdaise, an emblematic sheep breed and local from the Hautes-Pyrénées, then on the verge of extinction. This is how, in parallel with his work as a teacher, he developed a passionate passion for the breeding of this very special breed of sheep. With about 1300 animals in 2023 (while the threshold for threatened breed status is set at 6,000 animals), the lourdaise sheep is today, and despite its remarkable efforts, still protected by the Unité Pyrénéenne Races Allaitantes  (UPRA ovine) from the central Pyrenees. My father also collaborated with the UPRA following a request to the Institut Technique de l'Élevage Ovin et Caprin  (ITOVIC) in a conservation program for the lourdaise breed by freezing semen from selected rams, including one from his herd. When I look back, I can only be admiring and proud of his work and am very grateful to him for having led me on this adventure.

So, since I was born, my father always took me with him to the farm. I have always liked contact with these animals, the lourdaise sheep being particularly gentle and affectionate. When the births didn't always go as planned, I was the one who bottle-fed the lambs, and I loved it! I have always been immersed in the world of breeding, and so it was only natural that I came interested in wool. It is an incredible material with many properties that deserves to be known and used for its virtues.

Pastoral stories

My reflections on the origins of wool and its transformation are undeniably linked to respect for animal well being. The breeds of sheep bred in the Hautes-Pyrénées live for several months of the year in high mountain pastures. As a child, I accompanied my father on the transhumance of his flock in the Hautes-Pyrénées National Park in the Marcadau Valley. What unforgettable memories! They will forever be etched in my heart, as they are such an integral part of my story.

Brebis lourdaises en estive

My father visiting his flock in the mountain pastures

Brebis lourdaises en estive

The lourdaise is also rather special in that, unlike other breeds, it feeds mainly on hay and regain, harvested by farmers directly in the valley, which limits the use of cereals and the environmental problems that are unfortunately sometimes associated with them.

The rest of the year, the sheep graze in the meadows in the low mountains and are sheltered in the sheepfold when the weather conditions are difficult in winter. Some herds even live outdoors all year round. The local sheep are therefore bred in semi-freedom. They are sheared once a year by professionals, with great technique and who master the art of shearing, conditions necessary for the good health of the animal. The lourdaise is also quite special because unlike other breeds, it feeds mainly on hay and regrowth, harvested by farmers directly in the valley, which limits the use of cereals and the environmental problems that unfortunately sometimes associated with it.

The challenges of the wool sector

The wool produced in France is very little and poorly valued. Before the COVID crisis in 2019, most French wool was bought from breeders by wholesalers at a derisory price, not even covering the cost of shearing, before being exported to China, to be processed there by industrial processes (with the ecological and social impacts that we know), then returned to the European market in the form of finished products. In 2021, barely 4% of French wool was valued on the territory according to the Tricolor collective. Worse still, this wool, although the result of considerable work on the part of breeders throughout the year, is increasingly considered as cumbersome waste that is difficult to get rid of. It is not uncommon to see breeders resolved to burn it, for lack of alternative solutions. In addition, French and more broadly European wool is subject to competition from merino sheep wool harvested in Oceania. The revival of the French wool sector therefore represents a solution for the future to relocate wool production and its transformation, to highlight the different wools of our regions and to revive ancestral know-how.

Niaux spinning mill

The Niaux spinning mill, a local player in the wool industry

Brebis lourdaises en estive

Flock of Lourdaises sheep in the summer pastures at Pic de Pan, Erwan Guyetand farm

Knitty and Woolly

Subscribe to the newsletter

Thank you for your registration ! You will soon receive an email with the newsletter.

bottom of page

top of page
brebis lourdaise

Histoires

Une histoire de famille

Mon rapport à la laine et au tricot est tout simplement une histoire de famille. Ma passion pour le tricot et les arts du fil, mais aussi pour les loisirs créatifs en général, est probablement inscrite dans mes gènes. J’ai appris le tricot avec ma grand-mère paternelle, lorsque j’étais enfant, ma grand-mère maternelle était couturière, et ma maman m’a transmis  son goût pour les couleurs au travers de la peinture.

tricot aiguilles anneaux marqueurs knitty and woolly
Protéger la lourdaise
brebis lourdaises

Et la laine dans tout ça ? Il y a environ une trentaine d'années, mon père, alors professeur d'histoire géographie et très attaché au patrimoine local, fit le choix de devenir éleveur et de s'engager activement pour la sauvegarde de la lourdaise, une race de moutons emblématique et locale des Hautes-Pyrénées, alors au bord de d'extinction. C'est ainsi qu'en parallèle de son travail de professeur, il se prit de passion pour l'élevage de cette race de brebis si particulière. Comptant en 2023 environ 1300 bêtes (alors que le seuil du statut de race menacée est fixé à 6000 bêtes), la brebis lourdaise est aujourd'hui et malgré ses efforts remarquables, encore protégée par l'Unité Pyrénéenne Races Allaitantes (UPRA) ovines des Pyrénées centrales. Mon père a d'ailleurs collaboré avec l'UPRA suite à une sollicitation auprès de l'Institut Technique de l'Élevage Ovin et Caprin  (ITOVIC) dans un programme de conservation de la race lourdaise par la congélation de semence issue de béliers sélectionnés, dont un de son troupeau.  Quand je regarde en arrière, je ne peux être qu'admirative et fière de son travail et lui suis grandement reconnaissante de m'avoir entrainée dans cette aventure.

Ainsi, depuis ma naissance, mon père m'a toujours amenée avec lui à la ferme. J'ai toujours aimé le contact avec ces animaux, la brebis lourdaise étant particulièrement douce et affectueuse. Lorsque les naissances ne se passaient pas toujours comme prévu, c'était moi qui donnais le biberon aux agneaux, et j'adorais ça ! J'ai baigné dans l'univers de l'élevage depuis toujours, et c'est donc tout naturellement que j'en suis venue à m'intéresser à la laine. C'est une matière incroyable aux nombreuses propriétés qui mérite à être connue et utilisée pour ses vertus.

Histoires pastorales

Mes réflexions sur les origines de la laine et sa transformation sont indéniablement liées au respect du bien-être animal. Les races de brebis élevées dans les Hautes-Pyrénées vivent pendant plusieurs mois de l'année dans les pâturages en haute montagne. Enfant, j'accompagnais mon père faire la transhumance de son troupeau dans le parc national des Hautes-Pyrénées dans la vallée du Marcadau. Que de souvenirs inoubliables ! Ils resteront à jamais gravés dans mon cœur,  tant ils font partie intégrante de mon histoire.

Brebis lourdaises en estive

Mon père rendant visite à son troupeau en estive

Brebis lourdaises en estive

La lourdaise est par ailleurs assez particulière car contrairement à d'autres races, elle se nourrit principalement de foin et de regain, récoltés par les agriculteurs directement dans la vallée, ce qui limite le recours aux céréales et aux problèmes environnementaux qui y sont malheureusement parfois associés.

Le reste de l'année, les moutons pâturent dans les prés en basse montagne et sont abrités dans la bergerie lorsque les conditions climatiques sont difficiles en hiver. Certains troupeaux vivent même toute l'année en extérieur. Les moutons locaux sont donc élevés en semi-liberté. Ils sont tondus une fois par an par des professionnels, dotés d'une grande technique et qui maitrisent l'art de la tonte, conditions nécessaires à la bonne santé de l'animal.

Les enjeux de la filière laine

La laine produite en France est très peu et mal valorisée. Avant la crise de la COVID en 2019, la majeure partie de la laine française était achetée aux éleveurs par des grossistes à un prix dérisoire, ne couvrant même pas le prix de la tonte, avant d'être exportée en Chine, pour y être traitée par des procédés industriels (avec les impacts écologiques et sociaux que l'on connait), puis renvoyée vers le marché européen sous forme de produits finis. En 2021, à peine 4 % de la laine française était valorisée sur le territoire selon le collectif Tricolor. Pire encore, cette laine, pourtant le fruit d'un travail considérable de la part des éleveurs tout au long de l'année, est de plus en plus considérée comme un déchet encombrant dont il est difficile de se débarrasser. Il n'est pas rare de voir les éleveurs se résoudre à la brûler, faute de solutions alternatives. De plus, la laine française et plus largement européenne, subit la concurrence de la laine de moutons mérinos récoltée en Océanie. La renaissance de la filière laine française représente donc une solution d'avenir pour relocaliser la production de laine et sa transformation, mettre en lumière les différentes laines de nos régions et faire revivre des savoir-faire ancestraux.

filature de niaux

La filature de Niaux, acteur local de la filière laine

Brebis lourdaises en estive

Troupeau  de brebis lourdaises en estive au Pic de Pan, ferme Erwan Guyetand

Knitty and Woolly

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter

Merci pour votre inscription !

bottom of page